Resistance: Fall of Man Review

resistance 1

I bought my first PS3 the summer the console first came out. The first two games I bought for it was Motorstorm simply because the graphics were amazing to me as I played it in Best Buy and MLB The Show because the first ones for the PS2 were so fun. My dad being impressed that I saved up over $600 by myself to buy a Ps3 took me to Best Buy to purchase a PS3 game for me. This was before I read reviews on games. (bless my amateur soul) So I quickly came to Resistance: Fall of Man. I picked up a copy and looked at the cover. It looked epic. A weird alien skull in the middle of a World War II landscape? DAD BUY ME THIS NOW!

I didn’t know that I had just picked up one of the best first person shooters (FPS) to grace the PS3.

I’ve now beaten this game three times. Every single time I replay it I forget how many levels there actually are and how long the single or cooperative offline campaign is. Unlike most FPS that you can breeze through in 10 hours this game actually took up my time for three weeks.

Resistance was made when there were 239234872879 World War II shooters out on consoles. So how would Resistance be able to separate itself from it’s competitors? In the Resistance world (Earth) WWII never happened.

VHAT DID YOU SAY?!

VHAT DID YOU SAY?!

That’s right Big H you never had a reign of terror on Europe.

Instead an alien race called Chimera invade the Soviet Union in the 1920s and forces the “Motherland” to close her borders to the rest of the world. Villages and cities start burning while humans are slaughtered or transformed into Chimeran. In the 1930s and 40s the Chimeran invade Europe including Poland, Austria, Germany, France, Italy and Great Britian. The U.S. sends reinforcements to help Europe fight off the alien terror…..wait a second… this sounds like….

I'M READY FOR BATTLE ONWARD CHIMERAN!

I’M READY FOR BATTLE ONWARD CHIMERAN!

No Hitler I swear you don’t exist in this game.

Anyway that’s actually the background to Resistance as the Chimeran are suppose to be quite a mystery to humans still. The game begins in 1951 with American soldier Nathan Hale.

Interestingly enough as I just googled Nathan Hale for a picture it turns out he was an actual American war hero back in the Revolutionary War. He was hanged by the British with his last words being “I only regret that I have but one life to give to my country.” STOP TRYING TO MAKE ME LEARN AMERICAN HISTORY INSOMNIAC! (game studio that made Resistance)

I’m sure that was no mistake naming our hero that as he represents every good American quality in Resistance.

You never leave Great Britain in Resistance although you travel throughout the country quite a bit. The environment doesn’t change much. It’s war. Meaning you see destroyed buildings and abandoned houses everywhere. It’s depressing. There really isn’t much environment change due to this besides a few snow flakes here and there but that’s a minor complaint.

What Resistance lacks in environment it makes up for in awesome weapons!

My favorite thing about Resistance is the weapons. Not just because they are unique but because you can carry as many of them as you can. Meaning throughout the campaign you can carry up to eight weapons. That’s a godsend because you simply hit your joystick to switch to your next weapon in a fire fight. You don’t have to worry about running out of ammo or hoarding all your bullets because you may not find another gun for awhile. It also takes the hard decision of which two guns you should keep like most FPS makes you decide.

Here take a look at the weapons and what they do!

M5A2Your typical machine gun. Also shoots mini rockets.

M5A2
Your typical machine gun. Also shoots mini rockets.

Rossmore 236Typical shotgun. It goes boom. Brains go splat.

Rossmore 236
Typical shotgun. It goes boom. Brains go splat.

Bullseye. Chimeran made. Typical alien machine gun. Shoots a tag that sticks on enemies and all your bullets will be attracted to it.

Bullseye.
Chimeran made. Typical alien machine gun. Shoots a tag that sticks on enemies and all your bullets will be attracted to it.

L23 FareyeTypical sniper rifle. It can slow time down to help you concentrate. Saved my ass many times.

L23 Fareye
Typical sniper rifle. It can slow time down to help you concentrate. Saved my ass many times.

Auger. Shoots balls of energy. They can go through anything. Walls, cars, trees, humans.....

Auger.
Shoots balls of energy. They can go through anything. Walls, cars, trees, humans…..

L11 2 Dragon.Flamethrower. Drop it like it's hot.

L11 2 Dragon.
Flamethrower. Drop it like it’s hot.

L209 LAARKTypical rocket launcher. Fireworks not included.

L209 LAARK
Typical rocket launcher. Fireworks not included.

Arc Charger. Releases electricity. A lot. Pikachu would be proud.

Arc Charger.
Releases electricity. A lot. Pikachu would be proud.

XR 005 HailstormShoots tiny crystals that bounce off anything.

XR 005 Hailstorm
Shoots tiny crystals that bounce off anything.

XR 003 SapperShoots puffs balls that stick to anything. Oh they explode afterward. Sticky boom.

XR 003 Sapper
Shoots puffs balls that stick to anything. Oh they explode afterward. Sticky boom.

ReaperClosest thing to pistols. Don't fear the reaper.

Reaper
Closest thing to pistols. Don’t fear the reaper.

Those are just about all the weapons used in Resistance give or take a couple. You are also equipped with grenades. A frag grenade, a air fuel grenade which releases gas then sets it on fire, a backlash grenade and my favorite the hedgehog grenade.

You’re probably thinking now that I have all these sweet weapons what the heck do I shoot at?

These bastards. How do you say rape in Chimeran?

These bastards. How do you say rape in Chimeran?

In your conquest to save Great Britain you get to use a few vehicles. A tank, a jeep and a stalker. A stalker is like a four leg spider tank. You never get to fly in this game which is a little bit of downer.

The story is also narrated by a female soldier. She tells the story of Nathan Hale and his exploits across Great Britain. She does a good job giving details as to the history of the Chimeran but it gets a bit murky for the actual story part. FPS never have good stories. (Spare me I don’t play Halo) Resistance followed the generic story of a FPS. Epic war, shoot, travel, shoot, save soldiers/citizens shoot, go to enemy base kill everyone blow up base and shoot. It’s a good system. Just not the most unique.

Like I mentioned earlier I beat this game three times. Once by myself. Once with my friend who is a hard core gamer and just yesterday with my girlfriend. The thing that sticks out to me is that on the last level it took myself and my gamer friend almost 25 tries to beat the last part….. with my girlfriend…. we beat it the first time. I’m not sure if that was just pure dumb luck or if Kaessi is a hard core gamer trapped in a hot girl’s body.

SPOILER: at the end of the game the Chimeran base in London is blown up by Hale. He “dies” in the explosion. (Later after the credits roll Hale is shown being picked up by a Helicopter) I’m not sure Hale is human anymore either. After being infected by the Chimeran virus early on he starts to show symptoms of turning into a Chimeran. His eyes turn yellow. He has better agility. He can heal his wounds. So it’s not surprising that Insomniac made a Resistance 2. Which I actually just got from my sister this year for Christmas.

Overall this was a stroke of pure luck for my naive self to pick out an awesome FPS without reading a review. Awesome weapons, a nice long campaign, decent graphics and alternative world without WWII. Only complaints is lack of environment change and cloudy story. I give Resistance: Fall of Man a 8/10.

This entry was posted in Playstation 3, Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

